Bestowed annually since 1988, the Preservation Achievement Awards honor outstanding achievements in historic preservation and compatible new construction in Boston. Celebrated for their positive impact on the city’s built environment, winning projects are looked upon as models for future preservation work. We believe that creating a better future for Boston lies in preserving its past.

2020 Preservation Achievement Award Winners


Codman Award for Lifetime Achievement 

The Codman Award recognizes outstanding and career-long contributions to historic preservation and conservation in Boston. 

2020 Codman Award for Lifetime Achievement: Carl Nold


President’s Award for Excellence 

The President’s Award recognizes an individual or organization who has enhanced the success and vibrancy of Boston in ways aligned with the Alliance’s mission. 

2020 President’s Award for Excellence: Jim Batchelor and Arrowstreet


2019 Winners: 

2019 Preservation Achievement Award Winners

2019 Codman Award for Lifetime Achievement: Andrea Gilmore

2019 President’s Award for Excellence: Larry Curtis and WinnCompanies


2018 Winners: 

2018 Preservation Achievement Award Winners


Previous Codman Award Winners:

2012 — Richard J. Bertman

2010 — Dr. Judith Selwyn

2007 — Paul McGinley

2006 — Joe and Susan Park

1997 — Robert G. Neiley

1990 — Henry Lee

1988 — Stephen Coyle


Previous President’s Award Winners:

2017 — Boston Red Sox

2016 — Shawmut Design/ Construction 

2015 — Jonathan Davis

2014 — Howard Elkus and David Manfredi

Learn how to nominate an award.


Thank you to all our corporate members, including: